Jan 23 2013

Print this Post

WC, Yuma Schools Earn Title I Distinction

Two county schools have been recognized by the Virginia Board of Education for helping economically disadvantaged students on standardized tests.

Weber City Elementary and Yuma Elementary achieved the honor as a Title I Distinguished school.

Title I Distinguished schools are recognized for meeting all state and federal accountability requirements for and achieving average reading and mathematics SOL scores at 60th percentile or higher.

Each school and division will receive a certificate celebrating its status and achievement.

The board honored a total of 46 schools and one school division for raising the academic achievement of economically disadvantaged students. The awards are based on student achievement on state assessments during the 2011-2012 and 2010-2011 school years.

West Point Public Schools earned the Highly Distinguished Title I School Division designation by exceeding all federal Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA) achievement objectives for two consecutive years and having all schools fully accredited for two consecutive years. The board recognized nine schools as Title I Highly Distinguished schools and 37 as Title I Distinguished schools.

“The progress we make in narrowing and ultimately closing achievement gaps depends in large measure on the efforts of teachers, principals and other educators in the commonwealth’s Title I schools,” Board of Education President David M. Foster said. “The educators in the schools we are honoring today are leading the way. I congratulate them for their success in helping students overcome barriers and achieve at higher levels.”

Title I Highly Distinguished schools must exceed all state and federal accountability benchmarks and achieve average scores on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests in English and mathematics at or above the 85th percentile.

Schools achieving the distinction include:

  • Henrico County — Arthur Ashe Jr. Elementary
  • Prince George County — L.L. Beazley Elementary
  • Roanoke County — Clearbrook Elementary, Green Valley Elementary and Oak Grove Elementary
  • Rockingham County Public Schools — South River Elementary
  • Russell County — Cleveland Elementary
  • Tazewell County — Abb’s Valley-Boissevain Elementary
  • York County — Bethel Manor Elementary.

The other 36 Distinguished Title I schools are:

  • Albemarle County — Stony Point Elementary
  • Amherst County — Temperance Elementary
  • Botetourt County — Breckinridge Elementary
  • Carroll County — Fancy Gap Elementary
  • Charlotte County — Eureka Elementary
  • Charlottesville — Greenbrier Elementary
  • Chesterfield County — Bellwood Elementary
  • Danville — Woodrow Wilson Elementary
  • Franklin County — Callaway Elementary
  • Glade Hill Elementary and Lee M. Waid Elementary
  • Giles County — Narrows Elementary/ Middle
  • Henrico County — Adams Elementary
  • Henry County — Rich Acres Elementary
  • Lee County — St. Charles Elementary
  • Montgomery County — Auburn Elementary
  • Portsmouth — Victory Elementary
  • Prince George County — North Elementary
  • Richmond — Bellevue Elementary and Broad Rock Elementary
  • Roanoke County — Glen Cove Elementary and Mason’s Cove Elementary
  • Rockbridge County — Mountain View Elementary, Rockingham County — Pleasant Valley Elementary
  • Salem — East Salem Elementary
  • Tazewell County — Dudley Primary, Graham Intermediate and Springville Elementary
  • Washington County — Greendale Elementary
  • Williamsburg-James City County — D.J. Montague Elementary
  • Wise County — Coeburn Primary and St. Paul Elementary
  • York County — Dare Elementary, Seaford Elementary and Waller Mill Elementary

“The success of the teachers and students in these schools is particularly noteworthy given the challenging new mathematics SOL tests that were introduced during the 2011-2012 school year,” Superintendent of Public Instruction Patricia I. Wright said.

Title I of ESEA provides funding to school divisions and schools for programs to raise the achievement of students identified as being at risk of academic failure. The federal education law, whose most recent reauthorization is also known as the No Child Left Behind Act of 2001, requires schools and school divisions to meet annual objectives for increasing student achievement on statewide assessments in reading/language arts and mathematics.


Permanent link to this article: http://www.virginiastar.net/2013/01/wc-yuma-schools-earn-title-i-distinction/