↑ Return to Government

Print this Page

Federal Government


It is the duty of the executive branch to enforce the laws of the United States. Only a U.S. native of at least 35 years of age who has lived in the US for at least fourteen years is eligible to hold a seat in this branch.

45th President of the United States of America

President Barack Obama

Barack Hussein Obama II (D-IL)

Vice President of the United States of America

Joseph Robinette “Joe” Biden, Jr.

United States Cabinet

The Cabinet includes the Vice President and the heads of 15 executive departments (dates offices established in parenthesis; previous cabinet members under same administration also noted):

  • Secretary of State (1789): John Kerry previously Hillary Rodham Clinton (2009-2013)
  • Secretary of Treasury (1789): Neal Wolin** previously Timothy Geithner (2009-2013)
  • Secretary of Defense (1847): Chuck Hagel previously Robert Gates (2006-2011), Leon Panetta (2011-2013)
  • Attorney General (1870): Eric Holder, Jr.
  • Secretary of the Interior (1849): Kenneth Salazar
  • Secretary of Agriculture (1862): Thomas J. Vilsack
  • Secretary of Commerce (1903): Rebecca Blank** previously John Bryson (2011-2012), Gary Locke (2009-2011)
  • Secretary of Labor (1913): Seth Harris** previously Hilda Solis (2009-2013)
  • Secretary of Health & Human Services (1953): Kathleen Sebelius
  • Secretary of Housing & Urban Development (1965): Shaun Donovan
  • Secretary of Transportation (1966): Raymond LaHood
  • Secretary of Energy (1977): Steven Chu
  • Secretary of Education (1979): Arne Duncan
  • Secretary of Veterans Affairs (1988): Eric Shinseki
  • Secretary of Homeland Security (2002): Janet Napolitano

**Acting cabinet member


The legislative branch makes the law, and is ruled by the Congress. The Congress of the United States is bicameral, or ruled by two chambers. These chambers are the U.S. Senate and the U.S. House of Representatives. The Senate has 100 members, while the House of Representatives has 435 members.

Leaders of the 113th United States Congress

(Duration: January 3, 2013 – January 3, 2015) Senate President (Vice-President of the U.S.): Joe Biden (D) Senate President Pro Tempore: Patrick Leahy (D) Speaker of the House: John Boehner (R) Majority Party in the Senate: Democratic Party Majority Party in the House: Republican Party Senate Majority Leader: Harry Reid (D) Senate Minority Leader: Mitch McConnell (R) Senate Majority Whip: Dick Durbin (D) Senate Minority Whip: John Cornyn (R) House Majority Leader: Eric Cantor (R) House Minority Leader: Nancy Pelosi (D) House Majority Whip: Kevin McCarthy (R) House Minority Whip: Steny Hoyer (D)

Our National Representatives – Scott County, VA


The interpretation of the laws of the United States is vested in the judicial branch of the United States. The Supreme Court is the highest court in the land, while the lower courts, such state supreme courts, the judicial courts of appeal, and the district courts, rule underneath the Supreme Court. Chief Justice:

  • John G. Roberts (appointed in 2005 by Bush, GW – R)

Associate Justices:

  • Antonin Scalia (appointed in 1986 by Reagan – R)
  • Anthony Kennedy (appointed in 1988 by Reagan – R)
  • Clarence Thomas (appointed in 1991 by Bush, GHW – R)
  • Ruth Bader Ginsburg (appointed in 1993 by Clinton – D)
  • Stephen Breyer (appointed in 1994 by Clinton – D)
  • Samuel Alito (appointed in 2006 by Bush, GW – R)
  • Sonia Sotomayor (appointed in 2009 by Obama – D)
  • Elena Kagan (appointed in 2010 by Obama – D)


  • Vice President (President of the Senate)
  • Speaker of the House of Representatives (President of the House)
  • President Pro Tempore of the Senate (Vice President of the Senate)
  • Members of the U.S. Cabinet (in order of earliest date of establishment)
  • Constitutionally, Congress is to decide who is next beyond this point.


Permanent link to this article: http://www.virginiastar.net/government/federal-government/